Program Licensure Disclosures

What does a "program licensure program" mean at Platt College?

A professional licensure program is an academic program that has been created and marketed to meet educational requirements that leads to a specific license and is required for employment in an occupation.  Platt College's Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) program is a degree program designed to lead to a professional nursing license after successful completion of the NCLEX; the professional nursing license is required for individuals to serve in the role of professional registered nurse (RN).  While the BSN program is designed to prepare students to apply for licensure in Colorado, Platt College may not meet educational requirements for licensure in every state and/or US territory.

What is a "professional licensure disclosure?"

In accordance with Code of Federal Regulations (CFR 668.43 (a)(5)(v) and (b), a professional licensure disclosure is a requirement by the US Department of Education for all institutions of higher learning that participate in federal financial aid.  Platt College is required to disclose all academic programs that will or will not fulfill education requirements for a specific professional licensure that is required for employment in that field, and academic programs meet or do not meet the education requirements for each state and US territory regardless of the delivery mode of the program.

Platt College makes every effort to ensure information about educational requirements for licensure or certification information is current; however, state requirements may change. Separate from educational requirements, state licensure boards may require applicants to complete professional examinations, background checks, years of professional experience, etc. If you are planning to pursue professional licensure or certification in a state other than Colorado, it is strongly recommended that you contact the state licensing board in that state to seek information and guidance regarding licensure or certification requirements before beginning the nursing program. 

What are the disclosures required at Platt College?

34 CFR 668.43(a)(5)(v)- General Disclosures

Per 34 CFR 668.43(a)(5)(v), an institution must provide disclosures if: a program is "designed" to meet the educational requirements for a specific professional license or certification required for an occupation; or advertised as being a program that meets professional licensure educational requirements in a state for that specific occupation.  Platt College meets the educational requirements for licensure in the state of Colorado.

34 CFR 668.43(c) Direct Disclosures

Prior to enrollment, direct disclosure is made if the program (whether hybrid, face-to-face or online) does not meet OR the institution has not made a determination whether the program meets education requirements. The regulations state that "regarding the timing of these disclosures, the Department expects that the institution will provide this disclosure before a student signs an enrollment agreement, or before the student makes a financial commitment to the institution.

If the student is enrolled in a program and the institution makes a determination that the program does not meet educational requirements in the state where the student is located, the institution has 14 calendar days to notify the student. Disclosures must be made directly to the student and/or potential applicant in writing, which may include through email or other electronic communications. 

34 CFR 600.9(c) Direct Disclosures- College Processes

Upon request, the institution must document to the U.S. Department of Education (DOE) the disclosure process used by Platt College to determine the licensure and certification programs and the process for identifying student location (if applicable).  Platt College has developed a process for creating, maintaining and reporting on the disclosure of licensure for the BSN program. This requires regular review of licensure information as well as updating information on the website.  

Licensure Disclosures by State

The National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) identifies states that allow nurses to have one multistate license with the ability to practice in all compact states.  To see the current list of compact states, please visit: https://nursecompact.com/index.htm.  The curriculum for the nursing program which leada to licensure at Platt College has been designed to meet the licensure/certification requirements in Colorado as well as preparing students to apply for the licensure exam (NCLEX) in the State of Colorado.   Platt College shall not be held liable if the student is unable to qualify for licensure or certification in any jurisdiction or cannot obtain a practicum/internship location since all situations are unique and requirements may change.

Change of Address

While Platt College offers a nursing degree onground, if a student changes address at anytime prior to beginning the program, during the program, or after graduating the program prior to taking the NCLEX, the student must update their address in their student portal.

Platt College continuously to monitor all states regarding licensure requirements. See additional background requirements at https://www.plattcolorado.edu/policy-030600-background-checks-for-students

Nursing Compact States (eNLC Members)

Here’s a comprehensive listing of all states currently participating in multi-state compact licensing.

  1. Alabama 
  2. Arizona
  3. Arkansas
  4. Colorado
  5. Delaware
  6. Florida
  7. Georgia
  8. Idaho
  9. Indiana 
  10. Iowa
  11. Kansas 
  12. Kentucky
  13. Louisiana
  14. Maine
  15. Maryland
  16. Mississippi
  17. Missouri
  18. Montana
  19. Nebraska
  20. New Hampshire 
  21. New Jersey
  22. New Mexico
  23. North Carolina
  24. North Dakota
  25. Oklahoma
  26. South Carolina
  27. South Dakota
  28. Tennessee
  29. Texas
  30. Utah
  31. Vermont
  32. Virginia
  33. Washington
  34. West Virginia
  35. Wisconsin 
  36. Wyoming

As of November 7, 2023, there are currently thirty-six states part of the eNLC.